Repurpose! T-shirt into bubble romper


Turn a Goodwill find into a cute little outfit!

Start by harvesting the main part of the shirt.

Shape the crotch/inseam.

We’ll create a solid foundation to attach snaps to later.

Now attach those pieces to the crotch.

Next, use elastic thread to cinch up the legs and create that bubble effect.

This next step will create the stretch around the top.

Now, add some straps to hold it up on her shoulders.

Finally, attach snaps to the crotch.

Tip:  I’d recommend that you switch where the snaps are attached – to the “inside” of the front and the “outside” of the back.  That way, when it’s closed, you don’t see the overlap from the front.  

Aside:  Of course, if I were going to make this again, I’d leave off the snaps entirely and just sew a panel in the crotch.  Why?  Because I HATE snaps.  Actively loathe them.  With my whole heart. Fortunately, with the top being so stretchy, it’s just as easy to pull the romper down from her shoulders for diaper changing.

And now my favorite part!  Put it on your bambina!

4 responses to “Repurpose! T-shirt into bubble romper

  1. adaisygarden July 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    What a great idea! Looks wonderful on your bambina 🙂

  2. Michelle August 2, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Cute! I’ve not used elastic thread, but this tutorial makes me want to go buy some right now!

    • Jacelyn August 2, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks! And elastic thread is so much easier than I expected! The hardest part is getting the tension right on your bobbin, but all that takes is just a few practice runs to find the right setting. (On my machine, I just turn the bobbin tension as loose as it can get, while keeping the upper thread at its normal tension setting.)

I'd love to know what you think of this!

