Old-fashioned bonnet

With the sun peeking out more and more each day, I realized that Bambina needed a nice warm-weather hat to shade her eyes and keep the rays off her head.  And I’ve always loved old-fashioned bonnets.  Would your bambina also like a nice, old-fashioned bonnet?

I made my own version by modifying this tutorial from Sew Mama Sew.  The original tutorial gives directions for smaller (3 mos) or bigger (6 to 12 mos) heads, and I’ve included those sizes here, too (the only difference is the size of the big rectangle).  Here’s what you’ll need to do it my way, regardless of the size you want to make:

  • 1 fat quarter – optionally, you could repurpose some old fabric or use some scraps you’ve got lying around
  • 20ish” ribbon
  • 13″ (or 14″) decorative trim (optional) – I used piping, but you could easily substitute rickrack
  • Your SSA

Seriously!  That’s it!

Step 1: The cutting.  Cut your fat quarter into three rectangles:

  1. One that measures 13″x16″ (for 3 mos) or 14″x18″ (6 to 12 mos)
  2. Two that measure 3″x20″

Step 2:  Make the ties.  Fold a long rectangle in half length-wise and stitch along one long side, curving in toward the fold once you reach the end.  Repeat with the other long piece, turn both right sides out, and press.

Step 3 (optional):  Embellish.  Baste the piping, rickrack, or other decorative trim on the right side along one 13″ edge of the large rectangle.  This will become the front of the bonnet.

Step 4: Form the unstitched end of a tie into a Z (fold it in thirds) and pin it to the large rectangle about 1.25″ back from the decorative trim along the 16″ side.  Repeat with the other tie on the other side.

Step 5:  Stitch the whole thing together.  Fold the large rectangle in half width-wise, right sides together, and stitch around the three open sides, leaving a small opening along one side to turn. (The red line indicates where I left mine open.)

Step 6: Create a ribbon casing at the back of the bonnet.  Fold over and press 1/2″ of the back of the bonnet. Pin in place.  Also pin closed the opening you left for turning.  Top stitch around the whole thing, catching the edge of the casing and closing off the side opening.

Step 7: Use a safety pin to thread the ribbon through the casing.  Get it centered in the casing (as pictured in Step 6) and stitch across the middle (width-wise) of the casing and ribbon to keep it in place right there at the center.  If your ribbon threatens to come unraveled, tie a small knot at each end. Pull the ribbon tight on both ends and tie it off.

Step 8:  Put it on your bambina and go play in the sun!

If I were to do this project again, I would…

  • Round the front corners.
  • Stitch the ties on further from the front (maybe 2 – 2.5″ back).
2 responses to “Old-fashioned bonnet

  1. Erin @ Making Memories March 21, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Oh my gosh! She is adorable!!!!

  2. Connie March 21, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    I was in Charleston last week, saw the cutest baby bonnet, for my niece who is having a baby girl in June, they wanted $35.00, I passed. I know I could make as good or better for far less. Hi, I’m Connie at http://hotflashncraftn.blogspot.com/, now a follower, stop and follow me, too.
    Thanks so much for sharing this pattern!

I'd love to know what you think of this!

